RSTC Announces 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team

All-Alabama Academic Team

SamanthaKay Dees, Ian Godwin named Reid State All-Alabama Academic Team Scholars Recipients

EVERGREEN, Ala. – SamanthaKay Deese and Ian Godwin are Reid State Technical College’s 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team Scholars.

SamanthaKay Deese of Lenox and Ian Godwin of Evergreen, along with students representing all the two-year colleges within the Alabama Community College System, were nominated for the All-Alabama Academic Team by members of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for the students’ demonstration of academic excellence and intellectual rigor, leadership and service, and for a commitment to extending their education beyond the classroom to benefit society.

More than $53,000 total in scholarships was announced for 48 of the Alabama Community College System’s (ACCS) top scholars across the state during the 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team Recognition Program at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham – The Winfrey Hotel on Friday, April 22.

In addition to scholarships announced on Friday, scholarships for All-Alabama Academic Team members are also awarded when they transfer to some of Alabama’s public and private four-year colleges.

The All-Alabama Academic Team recognition program was founded in 1995 to complement the All-USA Academic Team Program that is sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and the American Association of Community Colleges.